Grace Episcopal Church is the largest rural Episcopal Church in the State of Virginia. It was the first church built in Kilmarnock and was consecrated by Bishop Johns in 1852. At that time, Grace Church, Historic Christ Church, St. Mary's Whitechapel, and Trinity Church were all served by a single rector. In 1973, Grace Church was given independence and oversight of Historic Christ Church (www.christchurch1735.org) and the other two congregations were able to call their own rector. Today, Grace Church maintains its ties with Historic Christ Church and continues to celebrate Holy Eucharist there at 8:00 a.m. on Sunday mornings in the summer.
The original Grace House was built in 1950. Six years later, estate funds were received for building a new church. The old church, which is the present-day Grace Chapel, was moved and connected to the new sanctuary by an arcade. Bishop Goodwin conducted the service of consecration in 1959. Growing numbers and the need for more space resulted in a new Grace House, building in the mid-1980s, and consecrated in 1988 by Bishop Lee.
The year 2002 saw expansion and renovations that resulted in a new, larger choir room; an expanded chancel area; a family room; more functional office spaces; and an office workroom.
Today, Grace Church is a unique blend of past and present, a place where the Family of Grace's time, talent and treasure join the offerings of those who have gone before.